Sep 17th, 2010 | By admin | Category: Administrative

Riau Islands is a province of Indonesia, consisting of Riau Archipelago, Natuna Islands, Anambas, and Lingga Islands. Originally part of the Riau Province, the Riau Islands were split off as a separate province in July 2004 with Tanjung Pinang as its capital. The archipelagos of Anambas and Natuna, located between mainland Malaysia and Borneo were attached to the new province. Batam has a majority of the province’s population. Other populated major islands include Bintan and Karimun. Sizewise, however, the sparsely populated Natuna Islands are larger. There are around 3,200 islands in the province.


This province is divided into 4 regencies:

  • Karimun (Capital: Tanjung Balai Karimun)
  • Bintan (Capital: Tanjung Pinang)
  • Lingga (Capital: Daik)
  • Natuna (Capital: Ranai)

and 2 cities: Batam and Tanjung Pinang

Riau Archipilago Lambang Motto: “Berpancang Amanah Bersauh Marwah”
Capital Tanjung Pinang
Governor Ismeth Abdullah
Area 21,992 km²
Population 1,198,526
Density 54.5 /km²
Religion Islam
Languages Indonesian
Regencies Bintan
Tanjung Pinang
Time zone UTC+7

Leave Comment